About Us

Zeta Phi Beta

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was founded on January 16, 1920, on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. as the sister organization to Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity. Five women chartered Zeta Phi Beta Sorority to:

  1. encourage the highest standards of scholarship through scientific, literary, cultural and educational programs;
  2. promote service projects on college campuses and in the community;
  3. foster sisterhood; and
  4. exemplify the ideal of Finer Womanhood.

A private nonprofit organization, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority is incorporated in Washington, D.C. and Illinois.

Since its inception, the sorority has chronicled a number of "firsts" among the established black sororities. In addition to being the only organization constitutionally bound to a fraternity, the sorority was first to charter international chapters, (West Africa and Germany); to form adult and auxiliary groups, the Amicae, Archonettes, Amicettes and Pearlettes; and to organize its internal affairs within a central, national office administered by paid staff.

Zeta Phi Beta fosters the ideals of service, charity, scholarship, civic and cultural endeavors, sisterhood, and Finer Womanhood. These ideals are reflected in the sorority’s national programs for which its members and auxiliary groups provide countless hours of voluntary service to staff community outreach programs, fund scholarship, support organized charities and promote legislation for social and civic change.

The Founders

  • Arizona Cleaver Stemons
  • Myrtle Tyler Faithful
  • Viola Tyler Goings
  • Pearl Anna Neal
  • Fannie Pettie Watts

Current Grand Basileus

Mary Breaux Wright was elected as the 24th International President of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated in July 2012.